Religious EducationRE

Religious Education is taught across all years and abilities. It is compulsory up to and including Year 11. There is the required teaching of Religious Education in Year 12/13 also but only those taking the AS or A2 will sit an examination in the subject. We teach about belief and faith but there is no expectation of such on the pupil’s behalf. All faiths and belief systems are treated with respect and courtesy so theists, atheists and agnostics may feel comfortable and valued within the lessons.

Year 7 and 8

We seek to enable pupils to make links between religious and secular thought, to interpret and express insights, to show coherent and understanding of faiths and evaluate them, to analyse belief and justify their views. The top pupils will be able to show in depth analysis, give independent, well informed and highly reasoned insights and provide well-substantiated and balanced conclusions. We use the Warwickshire agreed syllabus for Religious Education for assessment. This enables us to review and enable pupil progression effectively.

Year 7(2 full lessons per week).

Topics: Big Questions, Hinduism, Judaism, Christianity, Religion and Art

Year 8(1 full lesson per week).

Topics: Buddhism, Islam, Sikhism, Morals and Values

 Year 9, 10 and 11

We follow the AQA examination board GCSE in Religious Studies. This compares issues within Society and Life with Religious beliefs. We consider the beliefs and practises of the Christian and Buddhist faiths as a matter of course through pupils with a good grounding in another faith are welcome to follow the course according to the doctrines of their faith if it is one covered by the exam board. Pupils learn how religious believers consider such things as conflict, relationships, human rights and justice. We consider secular concepts too to try and ensure a balance of view and understanding. Each class has two lessons a week in year 9 and one lesson in year 10 and 11.  They will sit the examination at the end of year 11.

Religious Studies GCSE (full course) Specification: Specification A (8062)


Textbook: AQA GCSE (9-1) Religious Studies Specification A

Exams: There are two examinations. Component 1: A Study of Religion (Christianity and Buddhism) Component 2: Thematic Studies

Current Year 9.

Year 9: A Study of Christianity (beliefs, teachings and practices). Thematic Study.

Current Year 10 & 11.

Year 10:  A Study of Buddhism (beliefs, teachings and practices)

Year 10: A study of Christianity (beliefs and practices). Thematic Study.

Year 11: A Study of Buddhism (beliefs, teachings and practices)

Post 16

Sixth Form Prospectus - Please click here



Copyright © 2016 Lawrence Sheriff School                  Site        arthouse                                                                                                                                          
Lawrence Sheriff School Academy Trust is a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales with company number 8963659    
whose registered office is at Lawrence Sheriff School, Clifton Road, Rugby, Warwickshire, CV21 3AG